E.g., 06/30/2023
E.g., 06/30/2023
MPI's 20th Anniversary

MPI's 20th Anniversary

Since its founding in 2001, the Migration Policy Institute has become a premier, authoritative source for evidence-based research and innovative policy ideas in the United States and around the world.

At a time of increasingly polarized rhetoric around migration and integration issues, MPI serves an essential role—bringing light, not heat to the policy conversation—through its rigorous comparative analytic approach; solutions-oriented policy design; generation of important data; and convening of local, national, and international stakeholders from diverse constituencies.

To celebrate this important milestone, we held a special
20th Anniversary conference on migration and humanitarian protection policy in a rapidly evolving world on November 15. The conference featured an armchair conversation between the Director-General of the International Organization for Migration, António Vitorino, and MPI co-founder Demetrios G. Papademetriou. It also included a panel discussion with UN High Commissioner for Refugees Filippo Grandi, MPI co-founder Kathleen Newland, and Kids in Need of Defense (KIND) President Wendy Young. You can find pictures from the 20th Anniversary celebration in honor of MPI's co-founders, Demetrios Papademetriou and Kathleen Newland.

And learn more about our anniversary, including MPI's history, major milestones, impact, and a newly launched 20th anniversary podcast, World of Migration, below.

Please join us in building momentum for the next decade of MPI's work with a contribution to sustain and grow the Institute's research activities and reach. Your contribution will support mentoring the next generation of migration scholars and generating thoughtful, fact-based research and analysis of migration and refugee policies in the United States and internationally. It will also help MPI disseminate policy-relevant material and engage a broad audience.




Tune into our 20th Anniversary podcast, World of Migration, where MPI’s founders and leaders share their perspectives on the most pressing migration issues, discuss how the migration policy field has evolved, and offer thoughts for emerging and future migration scholars to consider as they begin their own trajectories in this complex and evolving policy space. Listen on our website, Podbean, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Take a tour of MPI's history and major milestones by clicking below


Thank You to Our 20th Anniversary Sponsors

Founder's Circle

Chair's Circle
Annie E. Casey Foundation
Anonymous - "In honor of Andrew, Demetri, and Doris and in recognition of MPI’s sustained commitment to excellence."
Mary E. McClymont
John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe

President's Circle
Russell Deyo
Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP
Warren R. Leiden
Donald R. and Cathey C. Lynn
Doris Meissner
Kathleen Newland
Jose Luis Prado 
Unbound Philanthropy
Viamericas Corporation
Jim and Linda Ziglar

Associate Circle
21st Century ILGWU Heritage Fund
T. Alexander Aleinikoff
Asian American Federation
Mary Bertino
Henry Bolter
Muzaffar Chishti
C M Coulourides
Bo Cooper
Rafael Etzion
Michael Fix
Louis Freedberg
Gerónimo Gutiérrez Fernández
Michael and Elizabeth Hoefer
Roberta Jacobson
Lisa Keitges
Laureen Laglagaron and Michael Mulé
Susan B. Learmonth
Gregory Maniatis and Nina Teicholz
David and Cyndy Martin
Sean McBride
Margie McHugh
Michelle Mittelstadt
John and Diana Negroponte
Kevin O'Neil
Demetrios G. Papademetriou
Delia Pompa
Marie Price
Luis Rubio
Denyse Sabagh, Esq.
Andrew Selee and Alejandra Vallejo
Barbara L. Strack
Rick Swartz
Stewart and Jenny Verdery
Michael Wishnie

Friends of MPI
Edward Alden
Andrzej Baranski
Claire Bergeron
Giuseppe Callovi
Michael Jones-Correa
Kenneth Crognale
Erika De La Garza
Marc Eichen
Bradley Russell Elledge
Melvin Endy
Susan Esserman
Miriam Feldblum
Maryellen Fullerton
Diana Gordon
Janice Jacobs
Gerald Jaynes
Alan Kraut
Robert Lavenberg
Carmen MacDougall
Elisa Massimino
Suzette Brooks Masters
Richard McCoy
Deborah Waller Meyers
Robert A. Mocny
Pia Orrenius
Bob Paiva
Trevor Phillips
Lisa Roney
Paula Schriefer
Michael Shifter
Arthur Silbergeld
Lidia Soto-Harmon
Hiroyuki Tanaka
Andrea Tanco
Aaron Terrazas
Teutsch Charitable Giving Fund
Jennifer Van Hook
Michael White

Members of the 20th Anniversary Host Committee

Hikmet Ersek, President & CEO, Western Union
Filippo Grandi, UN High Commissioner for Refugees
Carlos M. Gutierrez, Chairman & CEO, EmPath; former U.S. Commerce Secretary
Wade Henderson, Interim CEO & President, Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Taryn Higashi, Executive Director, Unbound Philanthropy
Jeh Johnson, Partner at Paul, Weiss LLP; former U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security
Loida Nicolas Lewis, Chair, Reginald F. Lewis Foundation
Eugenio Madero, President & CEO, Rassini SAB de CV
Mary E. McClymont, Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University Law Center; former President, Public Welfare Foundation
Cecilia Muñoz, Senior Advisor, New America; former Director, White House Domestic Policy Council
Frank Sharry, Executive Director, America’s Voice
Mariko Silver, President & CEO, Henry Luce Foundation
Rita Süssmuth, President, Consortium of German Universities; former President, German Federal Parliament
Jessica Tuchman Mathews, Distinguished Fellow and former President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
António Vitorino, Director General, International Organization for Migration
Ernesto Zedillo, Director, Yale Center for the Study of Globalization; former President of Mexico
James W. Ziglar, Sr., Senior Counsel, Van Ness Feldman LLP; former Commissioner, U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service