E.g., 10/21/2021
E.g., 10/21/2021
Translating Into Success: Key Features of U.S. State & Local Language Access Laws and Policies
Upcoming Event
October 21, 2021

MPI Webinar

Translating Into Success: Key Features of U.S. State & Local Language Access Laws and Policies

Spanish Language Posters from Illinois Department of Health at Health Festival
Illinois New Americans Integration Initiative
When: 
Thursday, October 21, 2021

3:00 P.M. ET (New York, D.C.) / 2:00 P.M. CT (Chicago) / 1:00 P.M. MT (Denver) / 12:00 P.M. PT (Los Angeles)

Where:

MPI Webinar

Speakers: 

Margie McHugh, Director, National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy

Jacob Hofstetter, Associate Policy Analyst, National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy

The U.S. population included more than 25 million Limited English Proficient (LEP) individuals in 2019, four out of five of whom were foreign born. Language barriers can pose serious obstacles for immigrant integration and hamper access to essential public services, ranging from schools and health care to police, fire departments, and the legal system. Recognizing the serious health, safety, and civil-rights issues at stake, many states and localities have introduced language access laws and policies to ensure LEP individuals have effective access to critical government services.

On this webinar, MPI researchers will present a new analysis that examines the common features and notable areas of innovation found in more than 40 state and local language access laws and policies. The discussion will explore aspects of the policies that seek to build capacities to support their implementation and ensure the quality and consistency of services provided to LEP individuals. The conversation will also illuminate key policy design elements and vital practical insights that state and local governments can employ as they face growing linguistic diversity and the need to ensure all residents have meaningful access to public information and services.