E.g., 08/23/2019
E.g., 08/23/2019

Effectively Serving Immigrant and Dual Language Learner Families through Home Visiting Programs

Upcoming Event
August 28, 2019

MPI Webinar

Effectively Serving Immigrant and Dual Language Learner Families through Home Visiting Programs

Sweetwater ISD
When: 
Wednesday, August 28, 2019

1:00 P.M. ET / 12:00 P.M. CT / 11:00 A.M. MT / 10:00 A.M. PT 

Where:

MPI Webinar

Speakers: 

Jamie Colvard, Senior Technical Assistance Specialist, Zero to Three

Pamela Williams, Washington State Program Director, ParentChild+ 

Moderator: 

Maki Park, Senior Policy Analyst, MPI

Home visiting, a two-generation program model that serves young children alongside parents and caretakers to promote their healthy physical, socioemotional, and cognitive development, has the potential to promote improved outcomes for children and families alike.

Young children of immigrants and Dual Language Learners (DLLs), who make up one in four and nearly one in three young children in the United States, respectively, are important targets for home visiting programs as they are disproportionately more likely to face risk factors such as poverty and low parental education levels.

Join this webinar marking the release of a new Migration Policy Institute (MPI) policy brief that explores program and policy opportunities to improve home visiting services for immigrant and DLL families currently underparticipating in these programs due to a lack of culturally and linguistically responsive programming and other barriers. Speakers will provide an overview of the home visiting services landscape in the United States and discuss promising strategies to build effective partnerships with immigrant parents to support their young children’s school readiness and success. Speakers will also discuss opportunities for states to expand the participation of immigrant and DLL families in home visiting services.