E.g., 09/19/2020
E.g., 09/19/2020

Centering English Learners in Schools’ Responses to the COVID-19 Pandemic

Upcoming Event
September 29, 2020

MPI Webinar

Centering English Learners in Schools’ Responses to the COVID-19 Pandemic

Thomas Park
When: 
Tuesday, September 29, 2020

11:30 A.M. ET / 10:30 A.M. CT / 9:30 A.M. MT / 8:30 A.M. PT 

Where:

MPI Webinar

Speakers: 

Molly Hegwood, Executive Director, Office of English Learners, Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools

Melissa Lazarín, Senior Advisor for K-12 Policy, Migration Policy Institute (MPI) 

Shelly Spiegel-Coleman, Strategic Advisor, Californians Together

Julie Sugarman, Senior Policy Analyst for PreK-12 Education, MPI

Moderator: 

Delia Pompa, Senior Fellow for Education Policy, MPI

Since school buildings closed their doors in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, English Learners (ELs) have faced significant barriers to participating in remote instruction. These include circumstances related to many immigrant families’ limited capacity to support home learning as well as more structural challenges such as inadequate digital learning resources.

But responses to the pandemic should also cause schools and local and state education leaders to reflect on their system’s capacity to equitably support ELs’ linguistic, academic, and socioemotional development. Implementing remote learning has exposed long-standing weaknesses in many districts’ approaches to teacher professional development, multilingual supports for parents with limited English, and building meaningful connections with immigrant families and communities.

In this webinar, the authors of a new report from MPI’s National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy will discuss key challenges to meeting ELs’ needs during the pandemic and the policies and practices school systems will need to put in place to support them and their families through the public-health and education crisis, as well as when schooling returns to normal. In addition, presenters will provide examples of centering ELs in planning for school year 2020­­­–21, including how to document supports for ELs in a district’s continuity-of-learning plan and how one district incorporated EL needs into its virtual learning plan.